ESEA Flexibility


ESEA Reauthorization: The Every Student Succeeds Act

The U.S. Department of Education has invited each State education agency (SEA) to request flexibility regarding specific requirements of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA), as amended by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (NCLB) in exchange for rigorous and comprehensive State-developed plans designed to improve educational outcomes for all students, close achievement gaps, increase equity, and improve the quality of instruction.

  • 45 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Bureau of Indian Education submitted requests for ESEA flexibility
  • 43 States, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico are approved for ESEA flexibility (see the list of peer reviewers)

State Requests and Related Documents

Bureau of Indian Education Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas Colorado Connecticut Delaware Washington, DC Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachussets Michigan Mississippi Minnesota Missouri Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Puerto Rico Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming

Information on other waivers granted under authority of Section 9401 of ESEA.

Support and Technical Assistance for States

Information For Communities

ESEA Flexibility Submission Documents


If you have questions regarding ESEA flexibility that are not answered in the attached documents, or as SEA teams you would like to schedule a time to speak with Department staff about ESEA flexibility requests, please contact us at

Click here to sign up to receive an email when this page is updated.