Eligible Applicants

Eligible applicants include states that did not receive an award under funding opportunity number HHS-2018-ACF-OCC-TP-1379. Those States are as follows: Idaho, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming, the Territories of Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

With the exception of Tennessee, these states are only eligible to receive this Initial Grant award under the FY 2019 PDG B-5 FOA.

Tennessee, a state that previously received a Preschool Development Grant under the program that existed from 2014-2018, must choose whether it will apply to this PDG B-5 Initial Grant announcement or to the PDG B-5 Renewal Grant FOA (HHS-2019-ACF-OCC-TP-1567).

Applicants must submit a letter on official letterhead, signed by the governor or an authorized representative, designating the state entity that will have responsibility for execution of this 12 of 57 grant. This letter must include a description of why the state entity chosen is best suited to manage the grant, leading to the improvement of an early childhood care and education mixed delivery system serving children from birth through age five.

Applications from individuals (including sole proprietorships) and foreign entities are not eligible and will be disqualified from competitive review and from funding under this announcement.